Fedora 10 in Asus Mini Nova Lite PX24 (1)

I recently bought a small Asus Mini Nova Lite PX24 and of course, installed GNU/Linux on it. I chose Fedora 10 because at that time, it was the only distro I tested with the required driver for the Wireless interface:
Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter

Other distros I have tried in the Asus PX24 are:
* Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron [Doesn’t work]
* OpenSUSE-11.1-GNOME [Doesn’t work]
* Debian 5.0 Lenny [Doesn’t work]
* Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope Alpha-5 [Works]

I was a Kubuntu fan until release 8.10, which completely destroyed the usability and stability of the distribution when shipping a non-stable version of KDE4. Switched then back to Gnome in Ubuntu 8.10, far more stable than the KDE counterpart. So now that I know that next stable version of Ubuntu also makes the Wireless networking work out-of-the-box, I thought of changing the PX24 back to Ubuntu.

But I won’t… I want to try yum, RH’s system-config-whatever scripts, SELinux… all those things that are not available in Ubuntu.

Posted on March 11, 2009, in Operating Systems and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. When you say 8.04 Hardy Herron “Doesn’t Work” do you mean just the wireless adaptor doesnt work or is there more to it?

    With thanks,

    Duncan.

  2. Just the wireless adaptor didn’t work out of the box. Of course, you can try to update the kernel coming with 8.04 to a newer one to get it. In fact, I now have gNewSense installed in the Asus PX25, and gNewSense is based on Ubuntu 8.04 LTS. I needed to install one of the latest linux-libre kernels to that gNewSense to have wireless working.

Leave a comment