NVIDIA: Failed to load the NVIDIA kernel module

I just upgraded my desktop PC from Fedora 19 to Fedora 20 using fedup; and once it rebooted I ended up (again!) with the nvidia driver breaking badly.

In my case /var/log/Xorg.0.log just said:

[ 56.343] (EE) NVIDIA: Failed to load the NVIDIA kernel module. Please check your
[ 56.343] (EE) NVIDIA: system's kernel log for additional error messages.
[ 56.343] (EE) No devices detected.
[ 56.343] (EE) Fatal server error:
[ 56.343] (EE) no screens found(EE)

And fixed it just requesting an explicit rebuild of the akmod modules:

$ sudo /usr/sbin/akmods --force

Let this be a reminder to the future me for whenever I upgrade to F21 :)

P.S.: yeah, I do need the nvidia driver as nouveau doesn’t seem to control the fan in graphics card… so nvidia is the only way to get a quiet hardware :/

Posted on October 24, 2013, in Lanedo Planet, Planets, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks. You helped me. Nice one.

  2. Thanks for this, helped me during a fresh Fedora 20 installation.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

